14 Reviews

I wish I could give this more than five stars. This is like a Mediterranean salad from an alternate universe, with watermelon instead of tomato, and it is delicious. The sweetness of the watermelon is offset by the sour, salt, onion flavors. I didn't have fresh herbs, so I used a pinch of dried parsley and a pinch of Greek oregano instead. I also used peppercorn feta crumbles because that is what I had a package of. Also used more olives than were called for, but that's because I love them. This was really surprising and really filling. Try it if you like Greek salads.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elgoose July 04, 2003

I was a little afraid to try this combination but it works! If you like feta cheese, you'll like this recipe. I'd suggest making it a day ahead of time, it was much tastier after chilling overnight.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tater May 25, 2003

Don't be afraid! Make it right now while watermelon is coming into peak season. Another reviewer mentioned Greek salad... Yes! If you like the taste of a Greek salad, you will really like this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aimzee July 25, 2014

How delicious and preatty was this salad. We prepared this in JustJanS house as we were guest in her house, but I will prepare this again in summer when watermelon will be available.
A really wonderful recipe, thanks for posting this here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde March 03, 2013

I was very excited when I found this recipe and thought the unusual flavors would come together impressively. I was not pleased with the results. I'm not sure what would help it as I followed directions. Sorry... but thanks for posting. ;(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SouthernSarah February 03, 2007

Sorry I am not going to be able to give this a high rating, but I felt that this recipe needed some work on it before I would do this one again. First of all, the watermelon needs to sit by itself so that it can drain, then add the rest of the ingredients. Secondly, the salad is not that appealing the second day,(the watermelon looks limp) so make up what you are going to need for that meal. The oil was not needed, you could not taste it amoungst everything else, and the other ingredients certainly made up for the taste. A 1/2 lb of cheese was way too much and I don't think needed. Let the other ingredients shine through and then this will be a first rate recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl July 23, 2006

This was sooo good! My kids even thought it was good. I used shallots instead of red onion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haskinsfam June 29, 2006

Absolutely outstanding.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandrasothere June 26, 2006

All I can say is WOMDERFUL! This is like the 4th of July in your mouth! Even my husband who doesn't really care much for watermelon loved this. It is very easy to make, however, it does not keep so only make what you will eat at one meal. I would give this 10 stars if that was an option, thanks Yooper for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Dillard June 07, 2006

I made this today and fell in love with the tastes. I added honeydew melon as I am watching the sugars in my food and it tasted just as good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryann denobrega June 03, 2006
Watermelon, Feta and Black Olive Salad