Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Watermelon, Feta and Black Olive Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Watermelon, Feta and Black Olive Salad

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2003

      I wish I could give this more than five stars. This is like a Mediterranean salad from an alternate universe, with watermelon instead of tomato, and it is delicious. The sweetness of the watermelon is offset by the sour, salt, onion flavors. I didn't have fresh herbs, so I used a pinch of dried parsley and a pinch of Greek oregano instead. I also used peppercorn feta crumbles because that is what I had a package of. Also used more olives than were called for, but that's because I love them. This was really surprising and really filling. Try it if you like Greek salads.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2003

      I was a little afraid to try this combination but it works! If you like feta cheese, you'll like this recipe. I'd suggest making it a day ahead of time, it was much tastier after chilling overnight.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      How delicious and preatty was this salad. We prepared this in JustJanS house as we were guest in her house, but I will prepare this again in summer when watermelon will be available.
      A really wonderful recipe, thanks for posting this here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      I was very excited when I found this recipe and thought the unusual flavors would come together impressively. I was not pleased with the results. I'm not sure what would help it as I followed directions. Sorry... but thanks for posting. ;(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      Sorry I am not going to be able to give this a high rating, but I felt that this recipe needed some work on it before I would do this one again. First of all, the watermelon needs to sit by itself so that it can drain, then add the rest of the ingredients. Secondly, the salad is not that appealing the second day,(the watermelon looks limp) so make up what you are going to need for that meal. The oil was not needed, you could not taste it amoungst everything else, and the other ingredients certainly made up for the taste. A 1/2 lb of cheese was way too much and I don't think needed. Let the other ingredients shine through and then this will be a first rate recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      This was sooo good! My kids even thought it was good. I used shallots instead of red onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      Absolutely outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      All I can say is WOMDERFUL! This is like the 4th of July in your mouth! Even my husband who doesn't really care much for watermelon loved this. It is very easy to make, however, it does not keep so only make what you will eat at one meal. I would give this 10 stars if that was an option, thanks Yooper for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      I made this today and fell in love with the tastes. I added honeydew melon as I am watching the sugars in my food and it tasted just as good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

      This is excellent and i always have to make 2 as my husband can eat one by himeself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      LOVED THIS SALAD !!! The combination of flavours was fantastic - I loved the saltiness of the feta & olives, the sweetness of the watermelon, the tartness of the limes - just an overall great summer salad. Thanks for a wonderful recipe that we'll be making again real soon. Thanks Yooper !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      One of my very favourite salads, which is suprising because I hate watermelon as a fruit. I have made a number of versions of this and I can't pick a favourite-this one was good with the addition of the olives. I just love the salty, sour, sweet, minty crunch of it all and could eat the entire dish myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2005

      A wonderful delicious surprise of a salad! If you have not tried it yet - it will be a big mistake not to. A friend made it in the summer - and she'd picked it up from the english tv-chef Nigella Lawson! Perhaps she's been looking at this web-side too..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Watermelon, Feta and Black Olive Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.0
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    66%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 25.3 mg
    8%
    Sodium 397.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites