8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe really let us down. It may be better had we left out the sugar. It was too sweet & left an after taste in our mouths. Really wanted it to be fabulous, but left us not wanting more. We made a double batch and are not eating the leftovers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimberly_kuhlmann September 25, 2014

Very tasty, and rich! I added a 1/2 tsp dry mustard and a sprinkling of cayenne pepper, and I purreed the entire soup in the blender to give it a smooth consistency (before adding bacon). Very tasty...I would cut down a bit on the sugar next time to make it a bit less sweet. Overall great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3TXCooks January 20, 2008

we love this! great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sabrinajosh December 16, 2013

This was delicious! I went to college in Wisconsin and have fond memories of great beer cheese soup. I made some changes that worked out well. I used an authentic German Hefe Weissen in stead of a Bock. I used extra sharp cheddar and ended up adding 3 cups at the end instead of 2. I used turkey bacon and fat free half and half to lighten it up. Because the turkey bacon didn't produce enough bacon grease I used vegetable oil instead. I added a cup of chopped broccoli florets with the other vegetables. I made some sourdough croutons and sprinkled them on top. We will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twinmom0 February 16, 2013

We think this is more like 3 and half stars but its better than just a 3 so we opted for a 4. The beer taste just seems too bitter for this and we even added about another cup of cheese. Maybe a pale ale would have been better for this. Or some other addition to sorta balance out that bitterness. We did think it was better paired with either bread or crackers. We did forget the sweet red pepper but I don't think they would have made the deciding difference for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer March 29, 2008

This is an absolutely wonderful soup! I saw Vicki's pictures of it (taken for the Cooking Photo Swap) and knew that I had to try it. I am so glad that I did because it is really good! I do not drink alcohol, but I like to cook with it, so I cut the beer amount in half because of Vicki's comment about it being a little too strong. Even with 6oz of beer, it had a really superb flavor. This recipe has been added to our family's list of favorites. Thanks Mary!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Polar Bear January 15, 2008

Outstanding soup. With eight inches of snow on the ground it really was soothing to have this last night. At first I thought the beer was a little too strong tasting. But it mellowed as it sat; I had made a couple hours before dinner. I used Harpoon Brewery for the beer. Excellent recipe. I saved some bacon to garnish on top. Also, my broth was not condensed, just regular and was still good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT January 15, 2008

YUM! I was worried the cheese wouldn't melt smoothly but it did! Lovely flavor. I did use Beck's Oktoberfest because I had one extra, lol. Everybody enjoyed this soup, even the kids! Made for the Aussie/NZ swap 1/08.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo January 10, 2008
Wisconsin Beer Cheese Soup