Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Your Basic Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Your Basic Grilled Cheese Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2011

      Ah-hah! So THIS is how you make a perfect grilled cheese sandwich. Step #5, low heat and frequent turn, was a revelation.

      Before finding these instructions, I cooked grilled cheese sandwiches on medium-high, but this method resulted in the best we have ever had. Not just homemade, not just in a diner, but ever!

      Followed the instructions exactly, except added some thinly sliced fresh tomatoes. Used Italian bread.

      Thank you Little Old Me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      The slow-cooking / low-heat method works great (though it takes a very long time)! My husband says this is the best I've ever made. I usually place cheese on both sides of the bread and pop it in the broiler for 1 min, then toss it in the pan for 1 min per side on med-high heat. It's done from start to finish in about 5 min, but the consistency of the cheese isn't as good as this. :) Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Served with Pioneer Woman - Tomato Soup With Sherry... dip the sandwich into the soup....mmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Brings back childhood memories - just like I had as a kid. Thanks Little Old Me. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      This is exactly how I make mine we had these for dinner tonight. Awesome. Thanks for sharing. Lisa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      I just felt like a basic grilled cheese sandwich and this fit the bill perfectly Thanks *Laurie*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      My favorite way to make grilled cheese--just like Mom used to make them. :) yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      A great basic, which I changed a bit. I used 9 grain bread and cheddar cheese. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Can't go wrong with a basic grilled cheese. Love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      This is one of the things that my son and I feel is "all American" even though we are not residing there now. Thoroughly enjoyable to make and eat! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      I've tried fancy grilled cheese sandwiches, but I always come back to the basic original. YUM!! Always a winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      I gave this 5 stars. My family loves grilled cheese sandwiches and tomato soup. This is a kid & adult pleaser. Quick and simple and makes a great lunch! Thanks for posting a yummy recipe. Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      Really easy to throw together! I have burned many a grilled cheese in the past because I did not have the heat low enough, and because I left it too long on one side. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      A simple but delicious basic. Thanks for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2005

      Love these and I press down with a spatula on each side like they do in a diner! My sons and their friends love when I make these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      Of course, a classic! Love grilled cheese sandwiches with warm tomato soup! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      Made this for lunch today and forgot just how delicious easy basic recipes can be. This was one of the first things I ever learned to cook (as a child) and they are still my favorite way to make grilled cheese. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2004

      i never took home economics in high school, and lived on campus-based meal plans throughout college. as a new graduate with very few cooking skills/experiences, i really appreciate that you haven't forgotten the basic recipes that kitchen newbies like myself need to get started in the real world!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Your Basic Grilled Cheese Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.0
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    34%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 18.1 mg
    6%
    Sodium 529.8 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites